Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women’s Basketball Announces End-of-Season Awards

WBB Banquet

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. — Lake Superior State women's basketball held its annual end of the season team banquet on Sunday, capping off the 2018-19 season.

The banquet was held on the Lake State campus and included coaches, players and families. Breakfast was served, along with the showing of team highlight videos reminiscing on the season and the distribution of awards to multiple deserving student-athletes.

Sophomore guard Taylor Bryant was named the recipient of the Christina Comito Memorial Award, which is awarded to the athlete who exemplifies the competitive spirit. The award is named after late Lake Superior State women's basketball alumni Christina Comito, who donned the Laker jersey from 1988-92 and was tragically killed in an automobile accident in 1995.

Redshirt sophomore forward Abigail Ostman was awarded the "4" Award, which is awarded to a Laker for what they did "4" their teammates, "4" the community and "4" the university. Ostman also earned the Scholar-Athlete Award for having the highest cumulative GPA with a minimum of four or more completed semesters (3.87).

This year's Most Improved Award went to redshirt freshman guard Sadie DeWildt.

Graduating senior guard Christine Moffett was awarded the Ultimate Teammate Award, which goes to the player who most exemplifies what it means to be a great teammate.

Junior guard Claire Radtke earned the Laker Pride Award, which is given to the member of the team who best exemplifies what it means to be a member of the Lake State women's basketball team and the culture that the team encompasses.

Rounding out the awards for the 2018-19 season was the team's Most Valuable Player, which was awarded to junior forward Lexie Khon. Khon led the team in points per game with 12.6 on 44.8% shooting.

For more information, follow LSSU women's basketball on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.