Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lake State Women's Tennis Drops Season Opener

Alison Grandfield

SOUTHFIELD, Mich. - The Lake Superior State University women's tennis team was hoping to start off its 2017-18 campaign on a winning note this Friday (Sept. 8) morning, but unfortunately the Lakers struggled in singles play to help Michigan Tech claim a 7-2 non-conference victory in a neutral site match played at Dearborn (Mich.) High School.

Lake Superior State won at the second doubles position as freshman AlexAnn Drouin and junior Jenay Andrews combined for an 8-3 decision as the Lakers trailed 2-1 going into the singles round.  However, the LSSU could only muster one win in the six singles flights with AlexAnn Drouin prevailing in two sets 6-4, 6-2.

"It wasn't exactly the start we were hoping for but we did have some good signs," said LSSU second-year head coach Luke Ogren.  "We showed that in doubles we have the potential to be very strong at all three spots. A big positive from the day was the performance of AlexiAnn (Drouin).

"Hopefully the signs we showed today will lead to the results we are looking for tomorrow," added Ogren.

The season-opening setback puts the Lakers at 0-1 overall on the 2017 fall season while Michigan Tech stands at 1-0 as a result of the victory.      

LSSU will seek to even its overall season record this Saturday (Sept. 9) when the Lakers return to the courts to face NAIA foe Lawrence Tech in a 1 p.m. (EDT) match at Southfield, Mich.  

Below are complete match results: 

Michigan Tech 7, Lake Superior State 2

Sept. 8, 2017 at Dearborn, Mich.

Singles competition
1. AlexiAnn Drouin (LSSU) d. Paola Quintana 6-4, 6-2
2. Ivona Gorgioski (MTU) d. Tara Harvey 6-2, 6-1
3. Sandra Cvetanovic (MTU) d. Macarena Bielsa 6-1, 6-4
4. Vicky Quinde (MTU) d. Laura Valderrama 6-3, 6-3
5. Natalia Parra Alvarez (MTU) d. Allison Grandfield 6-2, 6-1
6. Anabella Neri (MTU) d. Kirsten Malpass 6-0, 6-0
Doubles competition
1. Sandra Cvetanovic/Paola Quintana (MTU) d. Tara Harvey/Macarena Bielsa 8-4
2. AlexiAnn Drouin/Jenay Andrews (LSSU) d. Vicky Quinde/Ivona Gorgioski 8-3
3. Allenca Rolim/Parra Alvarez (MTU) d. Kirsten Malpass/Kristin Grandfield 8-6