Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

14 Lakers Named to WCHA All-Academic Team

14 Lakers made the 2018-19 WCHA All-Academic Team

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Fourteen Lake Superior State hockey student-athletes have been named to the 2018-19 Western Collegiate Hockey Association All-Academic Team, as announced by conference officials on Thursday. 

The Lakers named to the WCHA All-Academic Team are: Alex Ambrosio (So., F, Burnaby, B.C.); Roman Bengert (So., G, Dartmouth, N.S.) Diego Cuglietta (Sr., F, Kamloops, B.C.); Chase Gamelin (So., F, Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.); Max Humitz (Jr., F, Livonia, Mich.); Ian Johnston (Jr., F, Ottawa, Ont.); Lukas Kaelble (So., D, Manheim, Germany); Nick Kossoff (Sr., G, West Des Moines, Iowa); Brendan McKay (Jr., F, Toronto, Ont.); Mareks Mitens (So., G, Ventspils, Latvia); Yuki Miura (So., F, Tokyo, Japan); Collin Saccoman (Jr., D, Stillwater, Minn.); Gage Torrel (Sr., F, Monticello, Minn.) and Bennet Vida, (So., D, St. Albert, Alta.).

To qualify for the WCHA All-Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at their present institution, prior to the current academic year and have a GPA of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

Fourth-seeded Lake Superior State is set to face top-seeded Minnesota State in a best-of-three WCHA Quarterfinal series this weekend in Mankato, Minnesota. Game times are set for 8:07 p.m. EDT on Friday, Saturday and Sunday (if necessary).

Laker hockey watch parties are being held at Buffalo Wild Wings for each game.Fans can cheer on the Lakers while enjoying the numerous food and drink options that Buffalo Wild Wings has to offer. There are food specials for Lake Superior State students who present a valid student ID.

Each Laker hockey playoff game this weekend will also be streamed at The Wicked Sister, the official postgame spot of Laker hockey.

Be sure to follow the Lakers on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more information and behind-the-scenes action.