Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Five Lakers Named 2018-19 WCHA Scholar-Athletes

WCHA Scholar-Athletes

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association has announced that five Lake Superior State student-athletes have been selected as 2018-19 WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipients.

The Lakers earning the honor are: Alex Ambrosio (So., F, Burnaby, B.C.); Roman Bengert (So., G, Dartmouth, N.S.); Nick Kossoff (Sr., G, West Des Moines, Iowa); Collin Saccoman (Jr., D, Stillwater, Minn.) and Bennet Vida, (So., D, St. Albert, Alta.).

Kossoff is a three-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete and Saccoman has earned the honor twice. Ambrosio, Bengert and Vida received the honor for the first time.

The WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through member team Faculty Representatives and approved by the conference membership for the 2005-06 season. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his/her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

This season, the Lakers won their most games in a season since 1995-96, recorded the longest winning streak since 1996-97 (seven games), swept Ferris State in a road series for the first time since 1993-94, swept Michigan Tech in a series for the first time since 1983-84, won 16 WCHA Player of Week and five WCHA Player of the Month awards, have two Hobey Baker Award nominees, claimed the first Great Lakes Invitational Championship in program history and captured their first-ever WCHA Playoffs series win.

Be sure to follow the Lakers on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more information and behind-the-scenes action.